Home > law > Acts not constituting infringements of copyright in works (Australia)

Acts not constituting infringements of copyright in works (Australia)

February 8, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I post these here for the purpose of future reference and use.

…for purpose of criticism or review

…for purpose of parody or satire

…for the purpose of, or is associated with, the reporting of news by means of a communication…

…for the purposes … of a report of a judicial proceeding.

They are “Acts not constituting infringements of copyright in works”. So I’m just reminding myself of these rights so that any time I wish to use material covered by these, I can just grab the text and link from here and note it next to the copy. Of course this is not really relevant here because this blog is hosted by a US company, but it would be help if I were to one day decide to self host in Australia.


		
Categories: law Tags:
  1. pdehlsen
    May 31, 2010 at 10:52 am

    You should be careful because you could run afoul of the US DMCA laws. It depends on the content and where it is published and you should not assume that waving one of your snippets will save you.

    • Andrew Harvey
      July 6, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      Yeh, if I host it in Australia I should be able to use these exceptions, but not if its hosted overseas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

I don't read comments anymore due to an increase in spam comments. If you want to get in touch please send me an email (see tianjara.net for details).

